2012 Debut Author Challenge

Welcome to 2012! (Yes, yes, it’s February, I know.)

I’ve got plenty of resolutions for this year that probably won’t come to fruition, but one that I’m pretty excited about is my first time participating in the 2012 Debut Author Challenge!

The goals of the challenge are very simple: read and review twelve YA books by debuting authors in the year 2012. There are many things that I’m going to have trouble remembering to do this year, but reading is not going to be one of them. So look forward to some updates on my challenge throughout the year, and as always, feel free to read and comment along with me! There are much worse things you could be doing this year than supporting some up and coming novelists, some of whom might become your favorite new authors.

While I don’t know all the books I plan to read for this challenge, I do have a few in mind. I have been awaiting Sarah J. Maas’s Throne of Glass (or Queen of Glass, as it was called on FictionPress) for quite some time. It was a so exciting to hear that this wonderfully talented writer was able to rise from internet obscurity to being one of the most read stories on the web, and from there straight to a book deal.  And even though it’s a second Cinderella story that I’ll be reading this year, Marissa Meyer’s Cinder is in my hands as we speak. Look for a post about how cool this book is coming soon! Something Strange and Deadly by Susan Dennard has been on my to-read list for awhile, thanks to a recommendation from my friend Caitlin. The Selection by Kiera Cass looks like it could be really interesting, and I’ll try not to compare it to Princess Academy by Shannon Hale right off the bat. And lastly, Gravity by Melissa West looks pretty good.

People who read my blog might look at it and say, “Is all you read YA?” The answer is, well, kind of. After four years in college and a B.A in English, I read so many classics that I’ve come to crave newfangled YA novels like two-year-olds crave basically everything. So, yeah. Maybe some of you know what I’m talking about.

Anyway, if you would like to learn more about the challenge, just head over to The Story Siren. You too can read books like a crazy person! Yay!

Leave a comment

Filed under Books, Check This Out!, Other, Young Adult

Leave a Reply

