3 books of 2011 that I’m excited for (and you should be, too!)

There’s nothing quite like the thrill of your favorite authors publishing brand new books: the rush following the click of the Amazon pre-order button, then the waiting, waiting until FINALLY it shows up on your doorstep, smelling like New Book and Happy and Two Nights of No Sleep (it may also smell like cherry or bubble gum, depending on whether or not your favorite author has included a scratch-and-sniff cover).

These are three YA books that I’m pretty psyched about, all coming out in 2011. Listed in the order of publication date:

1) What Happened to Goodbye? by Sarah Dessen. May 10th, 2011.

*I do not own this image

Sarah Dessen is my go-to author for strong female characters and well rounded teen romance novels. I’ve read almost all of her books, and while Just Listen has been my favorite, I’m always looking forward to her new stuff. I feel like she does a very good job creating real relationships between characters (not just the “love at first sign of puberty” couples you get in some of these novels). She takes on realistic problems, and I definitely turn to these stories when I’m looking for a feel-good happy ending (usually to combat recent bawl-your-eyeballs-out endings and just-threw-the-book-through-the-window-and-hit-someone’s-car-endings). So, you know where I’ll be on May 10th. At home, waiting for the nice UPS man to bring me my book(s).

2) The Bridge of Clay by Markus Zusak. Scheduled for September 1st, 2011.

Zusak’s The Book Thief is one of the most amazing books I’ve ever read. I’m really, really hoping this upcoming book of his is on that level. He hasn’t released anything in a few years, so I’m glad that he’s finally coming out with something new. The description given for this novel is pretty brief, although it seems as though the premise of this book will be as original as his last two, and for that alone I’m excited.

3) Goliath by Scott Westerfeld. Costing me sleep on Sept. 20th, 2011.

*I do not own this image

You may not know this, because I haven’t reviewed his stuff on here yet, but Scott Westerfeld is one of my favorite authors of all time. If you haven’t read Uglies and its sequels, please, please read them (and then come back to discuss!). Goliath is the last installment of his Leviathan series, and if you are any fan of steampunk, this set is a must-read. It’s a retelling of WW2, starring Deryn (a cross-dressing English girl fighting in the military) and Aleksander (the son of the assassinated archduke and archduchess). Westerfeld’s worlds are so fun, with the perfect amount of fantasy/sci-fi and reality that I think they are accessible to readers of all genres.

This is by far the book I’m most anticipating, and therefore you should probably check it out.

And so, what books are you looking forward to?

Leave a comment

Filed under Books

Leave a Reply

